top of page

Misogynist education

It came to my attention that education, like the rest of the world, is very man-centric. I realised this as my when I was promoting the Red Box, which is a box full of period products that are free for female students to use; many young girls (13-14 year olds) did not know how to use a tampon. Yet they knew how to put on a condom.

Schools do not teach the necessity for girls but do when it comes to boys. Girls are not taught things that they will do for the rest of their lives, putting in a tampon or other period products to use or which tampons to use, yet boys AND girls are taught how to put on a condom by teachers.

As I was sitting there and explaining how to use a tampon (without a demonstration) to these 13 year old girls, I came to the conclusion that girls should be taught how to put in a tampon the same as drugs or alcohol or sex education, because that is something that is desperately needed in their life and if done wrong, can cause serious damage and the internet or the box for tampons is not as descriptive.

So if there are any teachers reading this , please , teach young girls how to put in tampons !

bottom of page