top of page

NOTALLMEN

Hi

Sorry I have no been available so much, especially with the new podcast, but with lockdown blues and work to do it has been hard to find some spare time. But I am here now!

As many of you know, the English parliament has done a lot of bad shit. Especially with the new protest bill #killthebill.

But I would like to talk about what you are taught about growing up as a woman.

Yes, I am non-binary, but I still appear female as boobs are hard to hide and for 17years of my life, I thought I was a woman. Growing up as a young woman was extremely hard. Especially as a teen. While boys were allowed to stay out late and play, I was told to walk down main roads when it was dark and how to use keys as a weapon. While boys could just meet up with whoever they want, I had to do full CIA background checks afraid that I would get kidnapped or taken away. I perfected how to fake a phone call if anyone approached me. I know that when I am in a uber that I must always follow the map and share my location with at least 2 people and call someone to let them know I was in an uber. Growing up I learnt pretty quickly to fear all men.

And of course, I understand that not all men would kidnap me or rape me in the back of an uber!

But you cannot tell which man will. You do not know who will. And when you experience sexism or sexual assault on a daily basis you keep your guard up. Growing up, if I wore a nice outfit out, I would get whistles from men, staring strangers at my chest area, especially when I hit puberty and I would walk home from school in my school uniform. Growing up I had grown men calling me hot when I was 15. Once I was 16, it got worse because I was legal.

I was 16 at a family members wedding and I got very drunk. The first time I had got extremely drunk. I was wearing a nice dress with heels because it was a wedding. The reception was hosted in a hotel where we had a room. I got tiered and I decided to get the lift back up to our room. A man got in the lift with me and kept complimenting me. He then asks what age I was, I said I was 16, he then tried to get me back to his room. Luckily, my room was by the life. He then tried to get in my room. This man must have been at least late 20’s.

So, when I saw I’m scared of all men, not matter who you are, I am scared of men.

Everywoman is cared of men because we all have stories like this, and some are worse.

So no, not all men rape, but everywoman is scared of all men.

bottom of page