top of page

What they don't tell you about stress

Hello! Sorry I have not been posting very much but my dreadful exams have suddenly came and I've been concentrating on that though I've been trying to post stuff on Twitter now and again. 

Well like I said , I've been concentrating a lot on exams and when I say concentrating, I mean stressed ! Well exams are designed to give you stress. 2 hours to show everything you know but keep it relevant to the questions that you don't know till you open that paper ? There must be an easier way. 

So I've been stressed out a lot lately and my college has been trying to be helpful on how to manage stress and when it comes a real problem...but they didn't mention one of the main problems I have with my stress and actually a lot of people have. 

Immune systems. 

Right now , due to weeks of stress, I've fallen very ill with a 'cold '. But no one tells you that stress can cause this so here it is! 

STRESS CAN CAUSE YOUR IMMUNE SYSTEM TO BASICALLY GIVE UP SO YOU GET ILL! 

No one told me this (except my mum...and Google) no health expert or anything but every time I am stressed for something I get ill and that is because stress just closes down your immune system.  But why does it?

Stess suppresses the immune system, which makes it easier for you to get sick and harder to fight off bugs. You don't produce enough white blood cells when you are stressed .  

But stress does not only cause you to get a cold or make your hair fall out but can also cause Acne . No wonder teenagers are associated with ance cause they are constantly stressed . 

So next time you get a cold or ance just remember one of the causes could be stress and for your physical and mental health, try and look up soothing things online to try or try something to get that stress out like walking , running or screaming into a pillow....or crying cause crying actually produces endorphins to help wash away any emotional trauma . 

A tip of advice for parents or any older with relations to teenagers going through exams !: Do not , I repeat , DO NOT TELL THEM THAT THEY HAVE NOTHING TO BE STRESSED ABOUT AND THAT THIS IS THE EASIEST TIME OF THEIR LIVES BECAUSE IT IS NOT. THIS IS PROBABLY THE FIRST TIME THEY HAVE BEEN STRESSED OUT AND WE ARE NOT TAUGHT ON HOW TO DEAL WITH IT. SURE TEENAGERS DO NOT WORK OR HAVE TO PAY BILLS BUT THIS IS VERY STRESSFUL . YOU TRY DOING 8 EXAMS OR MORE THAT ARE OVER 1 HOUR LONG AND YOU HAVE TO STAY CONSTANTLY FOCUSSED. ALSO SCHOOLS PUT SO MUCH PRESSURE ON THEM . YOU HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THEY ARE GOING THROUGH SO REPESCT THEIR STRESS ! 

bottom of page